Skip to main content

Logo for N.C. Cooperative Extension N.C. Cooperative Extension Homepage

Meet Our Staff

County Extension Director

Photo of Travis Birdsell, N.C. Cooperative ExtensionTravis BirdsellCounty Extension Director and Extension Agent, Agriculture (336) 846-5850 (Office) travis_birdsell@ncsu.eduAshe County Center

4-H Youth Development

Photo of Rhonda Church, N.C. Cooperative ExtensionRhonda ChurchEFNEP Educator, Extension Program Associate (336) 846-5850 (Office) rhonda_church@ncsu.eduAshe County CenterPhoto of Catie Gaddy, N.C. Cooperative ExtensionCatie GaddyExtension Program Assistant, Afterschool (336) 846-5850 (Office) catie_gaddy@ncsu.eduAshe County CenterPhoto of Caroline Goss, N.C. Cooperative ExtensionCaroline GossExtension Agent, 4-H (336) 846-5850 (Office) caroline_goss@ncsu.eduAshe County Center

Agriculture and Natural Resources

Photo of Richard Boylan, N.C. Cooperative ExtensionRichard BoylanArea Specialized Agent, Agriculture (828) 264-3061 (Office) richard_boylan@ncsu.eduWatauga County CenterPhoto of Brad Edwards, N.C. Cooperative ExtensionBrad EdwardsProgram Assistant - IPM (336) 846-5850 (Office) brad_edwards@ncsu.eduAshe County CenterPhoto of Micah Orfield, N.C. Cooperative ExtensionMicah OrfieldExtension Agent, Agriculture - Livestock (336) 846-5850 (Office) micah_orfield@ncsu.eduAshe County Center

Family and Consumer Sciences

Photo of Amanda Butalla, N.C. Cooperative ExtensionAmanda ButallaExtension Agent, Family and Consumer Sciences (336) 846-5850 (Office) amanda_butalla@ncsu.eduAshe County Center

Support

Photo of Jamie Davis, N.C. Cooperative ExtensionJamie DavisCOSS Office Assistant (336) 846-5850 (Office) jamie_davis@ncsu.eduAshe County CenterPhoto of Jessica Ham, N.C. Cooperative ExtensionJessica HamCounty Extension Administrative Assistant (336) 846-5850 (Office) jessica_ham@ncsu.eduAshe County Center

Other

Jill CockerhamProgram Assistant, Local Foods (336) 372-5597 (Office) jccocker@ncsu.eduAlleghany County Center

Regional Positions

Area Specialized Agents specialize in specific areas of agriculture and natural resource management and serve many counties. Area 4-H Agents provide support to county based 4-H programs. While their knowledge and expertise is available to residents of Ashe County Center, they may not be present in the Ashe County Center. Please contact the Ashe County Center for assistance and initial consultation.

Photo of April Dillon, N.C. Cooperative ExtensionApril DillonArea Extension Agent, 4-H Youth Development Serves 30 Counties and EBCIBased out of Cleveland(704) 482-4365 (Office) april_dillon@ncsu.eduCleveland County Center Photo of Lauren Greene, N.C. Cooperative ExtensionLauren GreeneArea Specialized Agent, Agriculture - Poultry Serves 31 Counties and EBCIBased out of Wilkes(336) 651-7347 lauren_greene@ncsu.eduWilkes County Center Photo of Marissa Herchler, N.C. Cooperative ExtensionMarissa HerchlerArea Specialized Agent, Agriculture - Animal Food Safety (FSMA Programs) Serves 100 Counties and EBCIBased out of Poultry Science(919) 515-5396 marissa_herchler@ncsu.eduPoultry Science Photo of Bill Lord, N.C. Cooperative ExtensionBill LordArea Specialized Agent, Water Resources Serves 100 Counties and EBCIBased out of Franklin(919) 496-3344 (Office) william_lord@ncsu.eduFranklin County Center Photo of Craig Mauney, N.C. Cooperative ExtensionCraig MauneyArea Specialized Agent, Agriculture - Commercial Vegetables and Fruits Serves 39 CountiesBased out of Henderson(828) 684-3562 craig_mauney@ncsu.eduHenderson County Center Photo of Currey Nobles, N.C. Cooperative ExtensionCurrey NoblesArea Specialized Agent, Food Safety Serves 49 Counties and EBCIBased out of Food, Bioprocessing & Nutrition Sciences(919) 515-9520 canobles@ncsu.eduFood, Bioprocessing & Nutrition Sciences Photo of Elena Rogers, N.C. Cooperative ExtensionElena RogersArea Specialized Agent, Agriculture - Food Safety - Fresh Produce Western NC Serves 49 Counties and EBCIBased out of Horticultural Science(828) 352-2519 elena_rogers@ncsu.eduHorticultural Science Photo of Amanda Taylor, N.C. Cooperative ExtensionAmanda TaylorArea Specialized Agent, Nursery and Greenhouse, Western Region Serves 28 CountiesBased out of Burke(828) 475-2915 amanda_jo_taylor@ncsu.eduBurke County Center Photo of Mitch Woodward, N.C. Cooperative ExtensionMitch WoodwardArea Specialized Agent, Watersheds and Water Quality Serves 100 Counties and EBCIBased out of Wake(919) 250-1112 mdwoodwa@ncsu.eduWake County Center